Leaving the ERP world

changingAfter over 15 years, I will soon be leaving the world of ERP and enterprise software.

It’s been a great time to work in the ERP software field, especially as small- and mid-size (SME) companies started seeing the value and justification for ERP in their businesses. For ERP vendors like my nearly former employer SYSPRO, the growth in the SME market has been wonderful.

For me it’s been a great experience working for a South African software company that is truly global. Having been in the SYSPRO corporate office I have had exposure to how an international software company does strategy and development planning, and been able to interact directly with some of the best developers around. I also got to engage with colleagues in other countries, and learnt a lot about how those countries can be both the same and very different. I could not have done any of that at any other enterprise software company in South Africa.

Now I am moving on, up into the cloud, so to speak. I will be joining a Johannesburg-based software company called Flowgear as head of marketing. This company was founded in 2010 and has been one of  Microsoft’s local stars in the startup space. It has also got onto the Gartner magic quadrant in the sector where it plays – Enterprise Integration Platform as a Service.

I am impressed by what I’ve seen and heard of the company – especially at a recent seminar held at Microsoft. I am also really looking forward to my new role: helping to promote the company and grow the business, not just in this country, but also internationally.

I will keep on blogging here, but I’ve realised I may have to change the top tag line, I will have to drop the “enterprise” part off.

Leave a Reply

