Windows Phone rant

Just a quick rant about Microsoft’s Windows Phone.

phoneI have a Nokia (now Microsoft) Lumia smartphone running Windows Phone 8.1. There is a function called Internet Sharing, which allows you to use your phone as a Wifi hotspot for other devices, and it has been working fine for me – that is until I came back from the USA (see previous post).

Now, when I switch on Internet Sharing to allow my Windows laptop to have Internet access, the browser shows that it can’t connect to the DNS server.
When I checked the Windowsphone.com site for queries on Internet Sharing,  it seems that Windows Phone caches DNS settings, so somehow I reckon my phone has US DNS data still on it.

Here’s the rant – you cannot reset or clear the DNS cache on Windows Phone. The only way to do it is to reset the entire phone! Microsoft, really, that’s your solution?

Leave a Reply

