Ideas and writing

writers-blockI have been struggling with writer’s block for the last few months. As you can see, I didn’t post anything for the five months since February. It’s not that I haven’t had ideas for blog topics, nor have I not been contemplating writing; but getting down to the business of actually writing something, that’s been my hang-up.

Many times I’ve planned to write, and then conveniently let something else intrude and stop the process. I would also get frustrated reading blogs from people who post frequently – weekly, sometimes daily.

I’m not sure what it is that sets up writer’s block, but I do now know that it’s real and not easy to overcome. I believe that it is partly created by the significant amount of my work time having to write content for the business, which may have affected my creative spirit. I was also very busy with work projects during some of that time, which definitely re-directed my thoughts.

So I am grateful for three things that occurred recently.

  1. I was asked to guest blog about an interest of mine. This was a bad case of writer’s block: I was asked in March to contribute but only submitted in July. In trying to understand my procrastination I believe a lot of it was related to perfectionism and a fear of failure. At the moment, the solution I have come up with is just to start writing anyway.
  2. A blog post I read describing how the blogger tries to get through a blocked phase. It helped me understand that I had to develop a process that would assist my creative side in getting down to writing.
  3. A new web app, germ.io, that offers a methodology and process to germinate and develop ideas. Planning the structure and content of something I am going to write can be difficult. For a long time I have used mind-maps, but their limitation for me is including the full details of what I want to write about; they are great for high-level planning and idea creation. Then I came across germ.io – it combines the ability to create maps (called flows) and also include lots of details in the flows. So I am trying to see if using germ.io is the process that will allow me to be creative, and at the same time, giving me a tool to think through and plan my content in a better way.

Lastly, I received an email from LinkedIn offering me the opportunity to publish on their platform. One of the 7 tips they give to publishing content is ‘Write Often’. So if I take up their offer I’m going to have to start being creative on a more frequent and regular basis.

One thought on “Ideas and writing

Leave a Reply

