Some personal data lost

I have received a letter in the mail from Zurich Insurance that they noticed that a back-up storage tape with some of my personal data has been lost during a transfer.

The fact that the transfer happened last year but they only recently discovered the loss is a bit disconcerting. What’s also concerning is that I don’t recall ever having had any kind of policy or investment with Zurich.

It just goes to show how much of our personal data is held by organisations we have don’t deal with, even on an occasional basis.

It’s times like this that I appreciate why countries enact data privacy laws – South Africa doesn’t have any yet. Then maybe I would known that Zurich also kept personal information about me.

Leave a Reply

