Blogger confessions

I got this via Craig Cmehil’s blog, who got it via someone else …

1. Do you promote your blog?

No. I started blogging as a means of exploring my own creative writing capacity, and still do. Getting referenced occasionally by some of the big names in enterprise software blogging does help though, and I think that using trackbacks also helps.

2. How often do you check hits?

Not very often, because of #1.

3. Do you stick to one topic?

In general I try to, but if I feel something is worth blogging about I don’t restrict myself.

4. Who knows that you have a blog?

My employers, a director of our ERP vendor, some bloggers overseas.

5. How many blogs do you read?

I have 89 blogs in my Google Reader RSS reader, and try to read them all.

6. Are you a fast reader?

Yes, and Google Reader helps.

7. Do you customise your blog or do anything technical?

I have done some basic customisation of my blog, but I still feel like quite a novice when it comes to the technical stuff of WordPress blogsites.

8. Do you blog anonymously?

Yes, because when I started I wanted to be able to comment about things close to my business without being censored. I have revealed my first name, but I am still reluctant to divulge my full details. However, a couple of overseas bloggers have revealed my full name.

9. To what extent do you censor yourself?

I believe I have to be responsible in what I say, and I don’t like to be over-critical even when I feel highly emotional about something, so I reckon that means I do self-censor to an extent.

10. The best thing about blogging?

The bloggers I have encountered around the world as a result.

Leave a Reply

