Telkom frustrates new business in SA

I have now had personal and second-hand experience that Telkom (SA’s currently sole fixed line telco) hampers and frustrates new business in SA.

During November I have been very busy get things organised for our new company, including applying for phone lines. First, it took Telkom 12 days to find a phone number for us. Then they said that our phone line would go in a week later than I was first told – which actually means for the first week in our new offices we have no phone. The final kicker was when I asked about our ADSL line, the answer ‘Oh, that will take 8 weeks.’

I was flabbergasted! No Internet connection for 2 months – if we were lucky. So I cancelled our ADSL application and went to a wireless Internet provider, iBurst. It costs a bit more per month but we will be set up in 5 days.

I heard that another business that is also moving into the same office block has also been frustrated by Telkom’s appalling customer service.

By the way, when I was in the Telkom office fuming, the branch manager was sitting not 5 feet away, and when I voiced my displeasure his comment was ‘I know, our ADSL service is terrible.’

The crazy thing about this is that Telkom is heavily promoting its ADSL service!

2 thoughts on “Telkom frustrates new business in SA

  1. Two months is a dream.

    I moved into a new apartment in Kalk Bay, Cape Town. At the time the current tenent informed us that she would be keeping her number and moving it to her new residence in the area. “Hey, no problem, I fully understand…”.

    So I gave good old Telkom a call: 10219 and three hours later I’d filed a request for a new landline number. It’s now 2 years and 2 months later and I’m still waiting – their excuse – not enough lines on the exchange!

    Come on it’s 2007, I live in South Africa’s mother city and still can’t get a landline, no landline – no adsl – no broadband, and to make matters worse I live in a wifi/3G/edge shadow so I’m left with no option but to dialup via MTN’s R2/MB gprs connection…

    Proudly A South African Victim!

Leave a Reply

